I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-02-06 - 10:05 pm�
I wonder if I'll ever have enough money to be elevated to eccentric...

Today, while I was in the lunchroom at work, I saw a guy that I used to know in high school. I recognized him immediately. We weren't good friends, but we did know each other pretty well.

He didn't really recognize me. I could tell. He seemed to vaguely remember me, and seemed like he was pretending to remember me, but he just had this look about him like I was putting him on the spot.

It sort of brought back my feelings of paranoia that I was invisible to all but a select few in high school.

Part of me just wanted to shake him and say, oh come on! Don't tell me you don't remember me, you big tool! We sat beside each other in music class for 5 years. Your locker was beside mine for at least 2 years. My clarinet used to fall from my locker onto your foot.

I left him alone though, once I could tell that he didn't seem to remember me. I didn't want to put him on the spot. I hate it when I can't remember someone who seems to remember me. Someone my mom works with remembers me very well from high school, but I can only put together a vague picture of her. She was nice, she was quiet (moreso even than me), and I think we were in the same music class in grade 9, and gym in grade 10. I feel bad that I don't have any concrete memories of her, especially when she apparently has some of me.

Moving on, I learned something today that pretty much freaked me out. The gross guy from our building died a couple days ago. Okay, that's not the freaky part. Sure, it always sort of throws me for a loop to learn that someone I knew, no matter what the context, has died. But here's the freaky thing: the guy, in all his gross, no footwear, ratty sweatpant, butt crack exposing glory, was an honest to goodness eccentric millionaire. I didn't think they actually existed in real life. I thought they were just something found in the movies or on Scooby Doo.

I wonder if I would have thought him less icky and off-putting if I had known he was rich. I'd like to think that my reaction to him would have been the same, but how can I be sure? Does money make it more socially acceptable to be weird and gross? Of course it does. Weird rich people are called eccentric. Weird poor people are just weird.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present