I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-02-07 - 9:02 pm�
I suppose I deserve it for goofing off at work today.

Only two more days to go at the crappy temp job! Woo hoo!

Today wasn't too bad though. 3 of the 4 people I work with were gone all afternoon. And the one that was left was way at the other end of the room, so I may as well have been there all alone. My supervisor and one of my other coworkers each gave me work before they left, and told be that I should have more than enough to do for the afternoon.

They were very, very wrong. I got about halfway done and realized that I had about another 45 minutes worth of work, tops. So I decided that really, the only thing I could do was to goof off and try to look busy. First thing I did was to see if I could get onto the internet. No such luck. There was no modem in my computer.

So then I fumbled through my purse, found the floppy disk that I carry around for just such emergencies, and I began to write. I was quite productive, and I'm pleased with what I wrote.

Everything was going along quite well until I saved my work onto my floppy disk, and tried to take the floppy out of the drive.

The disk got stuck in the drive. And not just a little stuck either. It would pop out about a quarter of the way, and that's it. I was yanking on the thing, and cursing it to hell for a good half an hour. I honestly didn't think it was going to come out.

I was scared. No one at this office saves anything onto floppies. If I asked someone for help getting it out, I would be found out.

I printed off everything that was on the disk (thankfully there wasn't much), and then I erased it. I figured that way when they found the disk stuck in the drive, they wouldn't have anything to connect it to me.

Yes, I was just going to leave it stuck in there. That is horribly irresponsible, I know, but I was going to do it anyway. Seeing as no one uses floppies, chances are no one would have noticed it there until long after I'm gone.

So after I deleted everything, and I tried one more time to get it out. Sure enough, I was able to get it loose that time. The little metal part at the top was bent, it probably get that way from being bumped around in my purse for so long, and it had been catching when I tried to eject it.

Well, that was a boring and ultimately pointless story. It sounded a lot more entertaining to me before I typed it out. Sorry.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present