I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-04-20 - 8:26 p.m.�
Read the Disclaimer

Hi there. Welcome to my online journal. I write here often, if not daily, certainly at least 3 or 4 times a week. I write about my life, my thoughts, my interests, my reactions to things in my life... basically whatever is on my mind. I've used this diary to rant about things that are important or interesting to me. You'll find descriptions of concerts and other events I've been too. I may spend an entry talking at length on my thoughts on various cartoons. I talk about my cats, Mittens and Simon. Very often spout off about my job.

It has recently come to my attention that a major search engine has been listing this diary as the top entry for searches done on my home town. This has been bringing a significant amount of traffic to my site. In fact, at the time of this entry (April 20, 2002), over half of the visitors to my site over the past three days have come here via a search for the city I live in.

This brings up a number of issues for me. My diary is a public diary, open to anyone who wishes to read it. I talk openly about situations and people in my life. I do make an conscious effort to leave out identifying details (like the names of people in my life who do not read or know about this diary or who do not want to be mentioned here). However, I do use my own name, and I think if someone who knew me stumbled across this diary, they would likely be able to identify me fairly easily after reading a few entries.

Yet despite this, I've always felt that I've had a measure of anonymity here. This is naive and likely a little foolhardy. The fact that this site is being associated with my city so prominently on search engines means that in all likelihood, sooner or later someone who knows me is going to find this site and be able to figure out who I am.

I've never felt like I need to censor myself due to a fear that I might get myself into trouble with people in my life who might be reading. I would like to keep it that way. This journal is a great outlet for me. And I don't want to make it private. I've met quite a few great people through Diaryland, and I value their feedback on what I write.

There are people I know in "real life" who read this diary regularly, and others who know where to find it if they did want to read it. So generally, it is not a big deal for me to share this diary with people who know me.

I think my main concern is that I am uncomfortable with the idea of someone I know lurking here, unbeknowst to me. I don't think I've said anything here that is particularly secret or hurtful, but in the course of my rantings here, I do write things about people that I wouldn't say to their faces. I don't want to offend or hurt anyone's feelings. I don't want anyone who I know to feel uncomfortable with me, or things I've written here.

So, the point of all of this is that I have a simple request:

If you have stumbled across this diary, read some of it, and think that you know me personally, please let me know you're here. If for some reason you can't do that, please just leave my site, and don't come back.

E-mail me. Sign my guestbook. Leave me a note.

It's just courteous. I would do the same for you. It would give me a chance to see if there is anything here that I really don't want you to see, or at least talk to you about potentially hurtful entries. And if you don't let me know you are here, and come across something here that offends you, I will not be held responsible.

Thank you. You may now resume your regularly scheduled reading.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present