I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-10-10 - 10:49 pm�
Oh, I'm a living joke.

Okay, I thought of something else to write about today. This falls into the category of "My life is a big pathetic joke."

Last night I was down in the laundry room with my mom. It was around 11, which is when she usually does laundry because you can always be sure of getting all the washers and dryers you need (we live in an apartment building). Anyway, there was this guy down there taking his clothes out of a dryer. We think he was slightly drunken. In any case, he was very gross. The guy was sporting ratty sweatpants that exposed his underwear and his butt crack. Charming. He made small talk with us for a while. We were civil, because really, you don't want to piss off some gross, slightly drunken guy. You never know who might be a psycho.

So he goes about his business, every now and then looks over at me and smiles. Then out of the blue, he came over, leaned in close to me and asked the question on everyone's mind:

"Hey, do you like wrestling?"

My mother not too subtlely cleared her throat and tried not to laugh. I answered, "Um, no." And then, because I'm slightly afraid that I've given the wrong answer, I add, "Sorry."

This meant nothing to him. He proceeded to try and impress me with a WWF t-shirt he just pulled out of the dryer. And then he told me all about the time he took his nephew to the Skydome too see wrestling. He doesn't have any kids of his own, and is single.

Thanks for sharing.

After he finally left, my mother and I break into hysterical laughter, because, hey, what else can you do? I don't know what exactly made the guy think I was someone who was into wrestling. I mean, I wasn't exactly dressed my classiest, but at least I was wearing shoes and socks to do laundry (which he wasn't). I don't think there was anything about me that screamed "Wrestling Fan! Make your move!"

Oh! After my mom regained a bit of her composure she smirks and says "He was trying to pick you up, you know. He didn't even care about me, he wanted you!"

Thanks, mommy.

So what is the point of this here story? The point is, that I attract strange and unappealing men. This is not the first time. I have a dozen stories about icky guys at bus stops who have tried to pick me up. There was this one guy who told me I looked "real pretty" in my business suit and wanted me to go out to the Simcoe Hotel (a really sleazy bar) for (cheap) beers, and then out for a night of Bingo, his treat. And they say romance is dead.

That's right. Sarah has guys asking her if she's ever modelled, and I get guys asking me if I like wrestling. Sigh.

Quote of the day:

"Oh, I'm a living joke." --Grampa Simpson, The Simpsons

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present