I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-09-12 - 10:12 p.m.�
Yoga is hard.

Yoga is hard.

My friend and I went to a pre-session yoga class. It was just a one time class, that anyone could do, see if they like it, see what level they might be at.

I think I might be at the level of pre-beginner, if such a level exists.

I enjoyed it, but it wasn't what I was expecting. Even though I wasn't sure I'd be able to do it, I somehow thought it would be an easy, no impact sort of thing. Just some stretching, some nice breathing.

I knew I certainly wasn't expecting all the sweating.

I held my own well enough. I could manage to do all of the positions well enough, and it wasn't a major strain, but it was definitely not easy. And oddly enough, the only position I did perfectly and felt really comfortable in was the last one we did. I nearly toppled over during the nice tree-like position, but I could do the supposedly hard one so well that the instructor singled me out and said that I looked like a natural.

I think that alot of my problem had to do with my bad ankles. My bad ankle has been bugging me for a week now, and though it actually feels much better after yoga, I absolutely could not sit on my ankles, even with a cushion between my butt and my feet.

I really enjoyed the relaxation breathing/ meditation part at the end. That was definitely the best part of it. And I do feel nice and loose and relaxed now.

We decided though, to put off signing up for the set of classes until the winter. We're going to do a pottery class instead, and keep up with the swimming for now. But by the time the next yoga session starts, the 20 minute drive to the pool on the icy country roads will not be as attractive.

So there you go. Heather's adventures with yoga.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Beth Orton

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present