I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-09-11 - 6:54 p.m.�
A year later

It isn't that I don't think this day should be remembered. One year ago today a horrible, scary, tragic, unjustified and unfair series of events happened. We shouldn't forget.

It would be wrong to go about this day as if it were any other day of the year.

However, I don't see how sitting in front of the television reliving 9/11/01 over and over again is healthy or theraputic. Do we need to see those images again? Have they left our minds? I can only speak for myself, but I know that I do not need to watch the buildings fall down again to remember that it happened. I do not need to watch the media analyze it from every possible angle.

The images and the feelings are still pretty fresh in my mind. In a year's time barely a day has gone by without some reminder of 9/11 from the media.

I've told people that I will not be watching the coverage today. The response I've had has largely been disbelief. It seems that avoiding the glut of 9/11 media today is almost politically incorrect. But I don't need a contrived media event to dictate my emotions. I don't need to be manipulated into feeling sad, or sorry, or afraid.

And so, this evening I am going to watch a movie. I'm going to watch a movie, and maybe some cartoons. I'm going to listen to music and play with my cats. I am not going to watch tv. I'm not going to listen to the radio.

I understand that my response to today isn't for everyone. But I hope that people will think about what they are watching today, why they are watching it, and remember that they don't have to keep watching.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: The Tragically Hip, "50 Mission Cap"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present