I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-09-11 - 9:59 p.m.�
Surreal

Words cannot possibly be enough to describe today.

It's just surreal. I know everyone's been saying it all day, but it honestly feels like a movie. That's what everyone at work was saying all day long. And honestly, if I saw these events happen in a movie, I would have been nitpicking the believability! The fact that anyone could get to the Pentagon... it's just mindblowing. And the loss of life in New York. My god, they said about 50,000 people were in that building this morning-- that's half the population of my city, for fuck's sake. It's devasting. It's unreal.

We are all scared here too. Canada is mourning for the loss of life, and the loss of security too. If it can happen in America, it can certainly happen anywhere. All Canadian airports were closed too (except for accepting diverted flights), and government offices in Ottawa and Toronto were evacuated as a precaution, along with every major office building in Toronto, and the CN Tower. We were all pretty sure that nothing would happen here, but there is always the fear because we are so close geographically, and we generally support and go along with the States.

I didn't see the pictures on the news until after I got home from work. We did have a tv playing in the small boardroom, but I didn't want to see it. The news from the radio was bad enough, and I didn't think I could make it through the day at work if I had video feed to go along with the stories.

Our whole office was on alert today, being an organization that offers both financial and rescue support in times of disaster. Last I heard, our American equivilent had not yet called in for Canadian assistance, but our disaster services was on major alert all day. The whole office pretty much had no choice but to abandon our normal jobs and help out with diaster services. Our normal jobs were pretty quiet, as it was. But every "normal" call I got amazed me. I couldn't believe that some people could carry on with their lives either oblivious to, or simply unphased by the day's events. Tens of thousands of people have been killed today and you're complaining to me that you got mushy peas with your dinner last night? Unreal.

I spent most of my afternoon voluntarily helping out with the incoming calls. We had a tremendous number of phone calls from people wanting to donate blood (something which our organization doesn't even do), donate money or supplies, volunteer, or offer up space in their houses to billet people from the diverted flights. We have 10 lines into our office, and only one switchboard receptionist, but this afternoon we had at least 3 people answering the phones at all time, and even with that we could barely keep on top of it. It was good, knowing first hand that so many people want to do something, anything, to help. I think all of North America is just feeling helpless right now. I know I am. I almost didn't want to leave work today, because at least I was doing something there.

Scary stuff. There has never been anything in my lifetime that even comes close to this. I still haven't processed all of it. I don't know how to start.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present