I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-09-12 - 7:29 p.m.�
Day after

Today was just a blur. I have never seen as much activity in my office as I saw today. Staff members running around like mad. I think all of the volunteers from the disaster services side of the branch were in today. People off the street dropping in to find out how they could volunteer or donate. TV crews were into the office no less than three times today looking for information and interviews.

I basically sat at my desk and tried to stay out of everyone's way. There wasn't much I could do. The disaster services volunteers were given the task of handling phone calls relating to the tragedy. And the flood of calls meant that I got very few calls today relating to my job. My clients and volunteers couldn't get in through the massive amounts of calls from the media, people wanting to volunteer, donate blood and money. We got a few calls from people looking for information on missing family members too. I can't even imagine what they could be going through.

It was just overwhelming. If there is one thing that can be said about all this, is that it has brought out amazing compassion from so many people. We got a cheque from an anonymous donor for $5000.00 to go towards the tragedy. That was the biggest donation, but certainly not the only one.

In addition to the literally hundreds of phone calls coming in to the office today, we had about ten people walk in off the streets wanting to sign up to help in any way they could. And there were honestly dozens of people who walked in wanting to donate blood. These people were slightly misguided considering that my organization does not handle any blood, but their hearts were in the right place, and that's what counts (Canadian Blood Services, 1-888-236-6283-- I cannot stress this enough, if you want to donate blood in Canada, that is the organization to call, the other organizations dealing with this disaster have enough to deal with right now).

It was a long day. It is going to be a long week. None of this has had a chance to sink in for me yet. I almost feel like time has stopped. Tomorrow I will go to work, and start to get back into routine. I will be making up my route sheets for my meal delivery programs. It seems unreal and slightly impossible.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present