I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-09-14 - 11:43 p.m.�
I'm so tired.

I'm tired.

My mind can't wrap itself around any of this anymore. I stopped watching the news today. All those people with pictures of missing loved ones broke my heart much more than the ever-present videos of the planes hitting and the building collapses. And all I can think is that no one should have to go through this.

I'm scared. This isn't over. I just know it isn't over. I don't have an opinion on what should be done now. I don't know what the solution is. All I know is that I want to feel like I'm safe from this. And I don't want anyone else to go through what the people on the street with their pictures and their loved ones dental records are going through. I don't want anyone else to go through what the people in the building went through, and continue to go through, if they managed to be among the lucky ones who got out.

Because what it comes down to is that a handful of people killed thousands of people. The victim wasn't Capitalism, or the Mighty U.S. of A. The victims were people. Ordinary people. Businessmen and women, receptionists, janitors, window washers, salespeople, mothers and fathers, and children. And the enemy who did this wasn't some great evil thing over there. It was done by people, to people. And I want to stop, but I don't see it happening any time soon, and I don't know how to make it stop.

I'm tired, mind and body. Work has been unbelievably difficult to get through this week. I want it to get back to normal. I want the disaster services staff to go back to laughing about alcohol consumption and playing jokes on their coworkers. I want my biggest stress at work to go back to being volunteers cancelling at the last minute. I want to be able to laugh at the insane messages left on my voicemail again. I want to go out for lunch at the Arabic restaraunt downtown and not wonder if the lack of customers that day is coincident or significant of hatred and racism hitting too close for comfort.

I don't think I've ever been more ready for the weekend than I was this week. I'm going to make a concentrated effort to relax. The big plan I have for the weekend is to sit on the couch in my pajamas with a big bag of chips on my lap, and watch movies, and try not to think of all the people in New York right now who will never be able to enjoy that simple pleasure again.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present