I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-03-22 - 7:39 p.m.�
More stories of work (hey, at least it's a change from all the cat stories of late)

Last night I went out with a huge group of my coworkers for a party for a woman who's been with the organization for 20 years. The turnout was really good, especially considering how few of us currently working for the company will have the chance to reach that milestone. But everyone loves the woman who the party was for, so most people were happy to go.

I've never been to a party with coworkers before. At least, not one that is after hours with access to alcohol. I limited myself to two beers, partly out of poverty, and partly out of a desire not to do or say anything stupid to supervisory people who I don't like too well. I can conceal my disdain beautifully while sober, and I really didn't see a need to jeopardize that.

It was amusing to see who did let their guard down and throw back the booze. While some of the boozehounds were expected, there were quite a few people who I didn't think would indulge so much in a room full of people they had to see at work the next day. Mind you, no one got really out of hand, but it was still a very interesting experience.

The bitter, soon-to-be-unemployed ladies sort of took me under their wing, and decided that I'm fun. I ended up sitting with them, and my work friend who got transferred to another office. I've since been invited along on their wild weekend, planned for sometime in April. I'll probably go. It should be entertaining.

In other news, work was very exciting today-- I got email and internet access on my work computer! And updated software-- no more 10 year old versions of Word Perfect! I spent the afternoon transferring files to Word 2002, and sending email to people in the office. The emails basically consisted of statements like "Isn't this new technology exciting? Whee!" And then I decided to send some email outside the office. Yay for abuse of office resources! If anyone wants to email me at work, just email me at my diaryland address and I'll give you my work addy.

I'm terrible in my response time to email from home, but I can just bet that I'll find the time at work to email people.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present