I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-11-02 - 11:36 p.m.�
Why I am stressed right now (or "I wouldn't say no to a brandy: Part 2")

I am so stressed out right now. My head is spinning. Absolutely spinning. All week I've felt like I can't stop, but that if I don't stop, my head is going to spin right the fuck off my shoulders.

First off, there is the whole moving experience. We got the keys to the new place, and it is wonderful, but there is just so much to do. So many details, so much to coordinate. And I am similtaenously feeling like I am the only one thinking about any of it, and that everyone else is trying to take over-- with plans not nearly as effective as my plans, because as everyone should damn well know, I am the queen of all things.

This is what happens when I get stressed because I have too much on my plate. I just want to take everything else around me and add to my plate. I start to feel like I'm the only competent person on the planet, even though rationally, I don't really believe that.

Tonight, to add to the insanity of moving, my mom and I went to my grandmother's to remove some of my boxes out of storage in her garage. My grandmother is going senile, but won't admit it, and is nasty about the whole situation, and nearly violent at any subtle suggestion that she doesn't know what the fuck she is doing. This makes her fun to deal with in any situation, but especially fun, when you really need her to stay out of your way. And on top of that, she had made it so we couldn't even get to my stuff. Two weeks ago, one of my aunts moved some of her stuff over there. Where had all this been put? Directly in front of my stuff. Even though half the garage is completely empty just in case she decides she put want to put her car in there (she has never once parked in the garage in at least 2 years.)

So, mom and I had to lug someone else's furniture out of the way before we could even get to mine to lug it out. All the while, we are trying to keep my frail, senile, 72 year old grandmother from lifting dressers and boxes of books herself in order to "help" us.

I tell you, it was like being at work, except at work, if the mean and crazy old person is being especially bad, I can hang up on them. Or get my supervisor to call their contact people. And of course, at work I get paid to deal with crazy and mean elderly people.

Work has been pretty damned stressful this week too. I have about 50 million things that need to be done immediately. And everytime the boss lady comes around I know that she'll add something else to the pile. At least my co-worker took my calls for most of today. That helped.

Also, today there was a meeting for all the staff in one of the other departments, and it was announced that 3 people are going to lose their jobs within a few months. Which people has yet to be determined, but it pretty much goes by seniority, so we have a pretty good idea who is on the way out. Even though it isn't my department, we do work closely with them, and it is always stressful to have this sort of stuff going on. One person was already let go on Hallowe'en. I knew it was coming, but I was still really disappointed. She had only been with the organization for 2 months, and I really liked her. She was one of the few really nice people in that department, and I wanted to her to be my friend. She did call me from home yesterday to tell me what happened, and I got her home number, so I do plan to keep in touch.

So, yeah. Now that I've spewed it all out here, it doesn't seem that bad (except for the part where I had to deal with my grandmother tonight, that still seems bad... because it was bad). I feel like an idiot to be so worked up over what is essentially nothing.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present