I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-01-17 - 8:49 pm�
Be cool! Diet! (or not)

I have my internet connection back! Oh hap-hap-happy day!

Too bad that I am too tired tonight to fully appreciate it today. Getting up at 6:30 am is taking its toll on me. I'm not used to getting up that early at all, and it's doubtful that I will get used to it before my job assignment is up. Cross your fingers for me that my next job is somewhere close... and starts later in the day...

Okay, I have a actual subject to discuss today. I don't know if I have enough energy to do as pointed a rant as I'd like to, but I'll give it a shot.

I spent my break today with 5 other women from my office. First of all, I should say that while I think these women are probably all nice enough people, I feel very far removed from them. They all have way more money than I've ever had, they live in really nice parts of town, and judging from most of the conversations I've heard from them, their biggest complaints in life seem to concern repairs on their expensive cars (and/or mini-vans and/or SUVs).

My point? Their ways seem foreign and strange to me. I'm an outsider to yuppie land. I take part in the break time conversations, but only peripherally. I listen, I observe. I find them slightly pretentious, slightly humourous, but fairly innocuous.

Now that I've laid out a bit of background on these people, I'll get back to my actual story. Today during the morning break, the ladies didn't discuss their car repair problems. The topic of conversation was something that interested me, angered me.

They were all talking about how they were all on diets/needed to be on diets/were planning to diet soon/etc. It all started because one women said that she was eating citrus fruit today because she heard it helped speed along fat burning. Another woman asked her, "You're not on a diet, are you?" The first woman answered, "Oh, I'm always on a diet! I live for diets."

That started them all off on the joys of dieting. They all seemed to take great pride in relating all of their "problem areas". They were nearly gleeful as they shared their plans to deprive themselves of foods that they enjoyed. Dieting was like a badge of honour for these women. Or something to brag about.

It was ridiculous. Not one of these women needed to diet. They ranged from skinny to slightly above average. Not even one of them was fatter than I am. They were dieting because it is the "in" thing to do. Dieting was completely taken for granted. It was a given. Everyone needs to diet, right? Nobody is as thin as they could/would/should be!

I didn't take part in this conversation. I wanted to. There were so many things that I wanted to say to them. I didn't say anything though, because I am an outsider. I'm just the temp, and I know that I shouldn't rock the boat.

If I'd been asked, coaxed into the conversation, I would have said this: I don't diet because dieting has never brought me anything but misery. I've never lost any weight by dieting. I feel deprived, I miss chocolate and ice cream, and worst of all, I get down on myself for my body size. Most of the time I don't have a problem being "overweight," but if I want to guarantee that I will hate my body, all I have to do is diet.

I will only diet again if I need to for medical reasons. If I'm told that I will die if I don't diet, then I will diet. Until then, fuck it. It's not worth it to me. I'd rather eat food I enjoy and be fat. Being fat is far from the worst thing in the world. Hell, it's not even close to being the worst thing in my life. It doesn't even crack the top ten.

And if I was to get the drive to try to lose some weight again, I would much rather go the route of exercise. I would like to get a little more active again. I had more energy and I slept better when I was swimming a few times a week. And I even lost weight without even trying.

Okay, this rant is far more rambly than intended, and I am starting to run out of steam, so I think I'll just end it off here. It's almost bedtime-- yay!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present