I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-01-18 - 8:55 pm�
More adventures in yuppie land

I have decided that I really don't like my current coworkers. Sure, they are nice enough to me, but I just don't feel that they are nice people in general. For one thing, there seems to be a lot of sniping going on behind people's backs. These are the kind of women that give female office workers a bad reputation. They gossip a lot. And they'll smile pretty at you, but they'll stab you in the back if it will make them look good.

And you know what else? Only one of the women in my department shows up on time in the morning! I'm not kidding. I'm on time, this one other woman is on time, and the other 5 of them are always late. I could probably take a later bus, show up to work close to ten minutes late, and no one would even be there to notice. That really pisses me off. I leave my home over an hour before I have to be at work, these people all have short drives to work, and somehow they can't make it in on time and I can? What's wrong with that picture?

The thing that really sealed my dislike of these people was a little bit of the lunchtime conversation. Here's a condensed version of the offense material:

Office Woman #1: The gas prices have gone up again! It's getting ridiculous. My bill was up $75.00 from last month.

Office Woman #2: Mine went up again too. And we just put switched to gas appliances last year. My husband wants to get rid of them all again and go back to electric ones. We are just spending so much money!

Office Woman #3: I thought I heard something on the news about the government giving rebates to people who were really affected by the hike in gas rates.

Office Woman #2: (snorting noise) Yeah, but only to low income families!

Office Woman #1: And of course, we don't qualify.

Um, hello?

I was floored. I had to comment. I kept my mouth shut during yesterday's absurd dieting talk, but I couldn't let this one slide.

Me: Yes, I'm sure that getting that heat rebate makes up for being poor.

They laughed, like I had made a joke, and the conversation shifted to a new topic quickly after.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present