I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-09-05 - 8:37 p.m.�
Fun with voicemail, no fun with hot engineering guy next door

What is it with old people and voicemail? I can't understand it. Everytime the receptionist puts a client through to voicemail, she explains that it's just like an answering machine ("just say your name and your telephone number and so-and-so will call you back"). I know she does this. I sit by reception. I hear her say this 20, 30 times a day, easy.

Yet today I had two messages that comsisted of nothing but heavy breathing and throat clearing. Another message went as follows: "what the hell is this? hello? aw hell."

This is not unusual. Another message in recent memory consisted of nothing but this: "Well, I guess I'll just have to call you back then, won't I?" Yep, I guess so.

I also get ones every now and again that think that the voicemail is a physical person: "Hello. Please tell Heather that Mrs. so-and-so called." I kind of like those ones. They're kind of cute. They remind me of my grandparents on my dad's side. They always left those kinds of messages on our machine.

*****

The only thing of interest that happened today was that a really hot engineer guy from the building next store came in today. He was in yesterday, asking about how to become a volunteer for us. One of my coworkers and I talked with him, and he was really charming and flirty.

Anyway, he came back in today, and walked up to my desk, made a teensy bit of small talk, and then asked me if my co-worker was in. I told him she was out (which she was), and then he asked me if I thought that she'd be interested in going out for lunch with him sometime.

Yeah, thanks. I felt like I was back in high school. The fat girl confidente go-between person. Yay. Sex-ay. Excellent for the self-esteem. Truely excellent.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present