I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-03-21 - 09:20 p.m.�
Unloved

One of the (elderly) clients who called me at work today told me that I had a sweet voice. I don't think anyone has ever said that to me before. It made me feel sweet.

Another one of the (elderly) clients I talked to told me that I had the voice of a 12 and a half year old. That made me feel less than sweet.

I'm starting to get bored in the evenings lately. I come home from work and I don't know what to do with myself. It's not that I have nothing to do, it's just that everything I do gets boring really fast. I don't want to play with the fimo, I don't want to read, I don't want to write, I don't want to watch movies, and I don't want to do housework (like I ever want to do that). I don't know what I want. Or maybe I do know; I think I want a social life.

Every now and again there is a nagging little voice in the back of my head that tells me that if I my life doesn't change soon I'm going to end up alone and unloved.

The voice has been surfacing more often since I've been working with the elderly again. When I hear about the lives of some of my clients I want to cry. I have to ask certain questions when I'm taking new clients. I have to find out if they fit the criteria for our service. I ask them their age, questions about their health, questions about other people in their lives. Most of the clients have someone, most of the clients have family, friends, neighbours; most of them have people in their lives to one degree or another.

Every now and again though, when I ask prespective clients about their support systems the voice on the other end of the phone goes completely quiet and they tell me that they have no one. No spouse, no children, not even any friends who live nearby. Sometimes they can't even think of anyone who they could give out as an emergency contact, someone who would want to help if they were in trouble, someone who would give a damn if they were to drop dead.

When I take these phone calls I feel my heart lurch. It's partly out of pity and compassion, but it's mostly because that little voice pipes up: "That'll be you someday, Heather."

It scares the hell out of me.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present