I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-11-16 - 5:28 p.m.�
Let's just say that today sucked.

Today sucked.

I'd like to be more eloquent, but I think "today sucked" pretty much sums it up. Today sucked. A whole hell of a lot.

First off, around 10 this morning, the big manager lady came over to talk to my coworker and I about our contracts (both of which are up at the end of December). She has the gall to start out the conversation by saying "I have some good news about your jobs." From there, she went on to tell us that our contracts are being renewed until the end of March.

This is supposed to be good news? 3 additional months on our contracts? And then what? In my world, the world where I have to work to pay for things like rent and food, this is pretty damn shitty news, thank you very much.

She went on with some management speak about budgets and looking at structuring, avoiding altogether the huge debt the big boss man has run our office into. She continued with the management speak when questioned about what is going to happen to us after March.

My response to all of this was, "Well, I guess I'll start looking for new work." I'm sorry, but I am not going to sit there and say nothing when it is damned obvious that the reason they are not renewing me past the end of their fiscal year is that it is a lot easier to turf out someone who is on contract. I told her that I understood "their" (management's) position, but I'm sure that she also understands my position, and I need to have some vague possibility of stability beyond 4 and a half months. I told her that I like my job, I like the office and my coworkers, and that I will sign the contract and hope everything works out, but until I know, I will be actively seeking new work.

The fact that she didn't say much to that makes me think that she wants me to find another job so she won't have to let me go if they can only afford 4 jobs for 5 people.

I hate this.

Worse than all this though, was what I found out this afternoon. A woman in my department, who I work quite closely with, has been fighting cancer for quite some time. When I was placed at this organization through the temp agency the summer before this, it was to help out with her job while she was off with treatments.

She's been off all week with a cold. We've all been pretty worried, because though she seems very strong, we know that the chemo does weaken her immune system. This afternoon we found out that she was admitted to the hospital last night with a very high fever. Today she underwent a blood transfusion. And, she got her test results back to see how effective her last run of chemo worked. Not only had the tumors not shrunk, they had grown.

I'm so scared for her and her family. The girl from the office who talked with her on the phone today said that she was crying on the phone. That almost scares me most of all. She is such a rock, such a fighter, but this is a serious blow to her emotionally as well as physically.

After today, I just feel like I want to crawl into my bed, yank the covers over my head, and have a good cry.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present