I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-07-29 - 10:02 p.m.�
If it is sunday night why should I be dealing with work stuff?

In the past hour I have received two separate work related phone calls. That's right, two separate people called me about two separate work related things between 9 and 10 pm on Sunday night.

Last time I checked, I was not an on-call scheduling clerk. In fact, if I am not mistaken, I am responsible to work Monday through Friday 8:30-4:30 only, and I am not answerable (is that a word?) after hours. Therefore, I should not be getting any work related phone calls on Sunday nights!

Of course, if I were in a supervisory/management position that would all be different. However, according to my job description, my job title, and my rate of pay, I am not a supervisor/management type person.

But guess what? Both my direct supervisor and the one immediately above her are off on two week vacations! That means I get to take on some of their responsibilities! Of course, none of this is official. No, no, they just tell me that they've make sure everything important is taken care of, and tell me that although they aren't expecting anything to pop up, they are confident I'll be able to handle any problems that may arise.

The thing is though, there are alwyas problems. Things always come up. Every damn day, there is at least one urgent supervisory thing that absolutely must be taken of and, in the absence of anyone else, must be taken care of by me.

Do I get anything extra for shouldering extra work and responsibility? A pay adjustment, perhaps? A bonus? No, of course not. I get a few "thank yous" and I think the big supervisor is going to take me out for lunch. I guess that's better than nothing, but it really does sort of piss me off. Supervisors get paid the big(ger) bucks to take their jobs home with them. I do not.

Hell, they haven't even made me a permanent employee! I'm still contract girl. Sure, they won't give me job security, but they will give me this crap, and expect me to do it with a smile.

You know, it's crap like this that makes people develop attitude problems.

I am really, really looking forward to going into work tomorrow.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present