I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-07-31 - 10:31 p.m.�
Heather questions the concept of Christian charity.

Today was maddening.

I absolutely can't wait until my supervisors come back from their respective vacations. I only wish that I was taking my week off immediately upon their return so that I could dump all the stupid crap that I've been dealing with on them, tell them to do it without my help, and see how they like it.

Sigh.

I don't really blame my supervisors for vacationing. They deserve vacations as much as the next person, but did they have to both leave me at once? That hardly seems fair.

Today was horrid. I got none of my own work done because I had to deal with all my supervisors' crap.

The biggest and most oboxious problem of the day came courtesy of one of the volunteer meal delivery groups. See, we have about 35 volunteer groups that work with us (translate: work for us), putting in one day a month delivering meals to the frail elderly. The groups usually provide us with 6 people to go out on each of their scheduled group days. The groups come from a few sources-- local business, service clubs, schools, and churchs.

We often have the problem of the group leaders calling at the last minute to tell us that they can't get enough people together for their designated night, meaning we have to scramble to find other people who can fill the void and make sure that these old people get to eat that night.

For some reason, the church groups are the worst for these last minute calls. Whenever I look at the meal delivery calendar and see that we have a church group on, I cringe, and wait for a call.

Well, I got one such call today from the group that was scheduled to go out this coming Friday. The leader of this church group informed me that she could not come up with even one person to go out this Friday. What's more, her group had decided that they were quitting the program altogether, and would no longer be available. Ever. It's just too hard to gather enough people together. No one at their church is interested in volunteering anymore.

On the up side, she did give me a couple days to scramble to make up the void. On the downside, I have to scramble to find people for a Friday, which is the hardest day to find volunteers. Worse yet, it is the Friday before a long weekend. Yeah, I'm sure all of the overworked volunteers on my spare list are going to want to come in on the Friday before along weekend to fill in for a church group who decided that delivering meals just wasn't fun enough or easy enough or whatever.

Thank you for your Christian charity. Thank you for caring about the 65 poor, frail, sick, isolated elderly people who were depending on you to make sure that they get to eat on Friday and over the long weekend.

The fact that it was a church group that let us down bugs me most of all. I know that not all churches are like this, and I know that not all Christians themselves are like this. But it is an indisputible fact that in the church groups I deal with have a much higher rate of cancellation than the non-religious volunteer groups. They cancel nearly double the time that the rest of the groups do.

Shouldn't it be the opposite? What happened to helping your fellow man? Thinking about others? This is the kind of hypocrisy that made me decide that I wanted no part of church anymore back when I was younger. It doesn't exactly give me back any faith in the church or in Christianity when I have to deal with this sort of crap. I sure hope that the dedicated church-goers in this particular group are confident that God will forgive them for turning their backs on those in need, because I know that I for one will have trouble forgiving them.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present