I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-04-08 - 7:18 p.m.�
The return of the psycho volunteer

I'm sick. Again. I've had more stupid colds and flus this year than I have in ages. This past one started on Thursday night, and still continues. I stayed home from work on Friday, and spent the whole weekend feeling miserable. I went back to work today, even though I really didn't want to. I'm glad I went though-- my supervisor was off sick, so if I had stayed home again there would have been no one in our department.

Everyone said I looked awful, and while that wasn't particularly flattering, at least everyone pretty much left me alone. One of my coworkers kept telling me that I looked like I was about to pass out. I told her just to make sure I didn't hit my head on my way to the ground.

Work was alright though. It was fairly quiet, and nobody expected me to do much more than to be a warm body on hand to answer the phone.

The psycho volunteer came in again today. I was in the kitchen making tea when he came in, so he went straight to the desk of my office volunteer. The receptionist warned me that he was there, and I went and hid in another cubicle until I saw him leave the building. I felt a bit cowardly for hiding, and more than a bit angry that I allowed him to have enough power over me to send me fleeing. But at the same time, I just didn't have the energy to deal with him today.

The big boss lady got wind of his behavior last Wednesday. He had called her a few days before because he wanted to volunteer to give presentations about volunteering with our outreach department. When the boss lady passed his name along to the outreach department, they said they didn't want him, because they heard the way he treated me. The boss lady was mad that no one told her before that. She arranged for my supervisor and her to have a meeting with the psycho. He is to be given an official reprimand, and a warning that behavior like that will not be tolerated twice. He also has to give me an official apology or he cannot volunteer with us anymore.

I am glad that this is happening. I'm glad that he is being told that the way he acted was wrong, and that he'd better not do it again. I'm also glad that the asshole has to apologize.

But I still have a feeling that this is going to end up becoming a pain in the ass for me. I just know that he'll try to turn it around on me. He's convinced that his anger with me is justified because of my incompetence. Even though I know that I did nothing wrong, I don't relish the thought that I'll have to defend myself.

It's not fair: This guy yells and throws something at me, and he's given the opportunity to call my actions into question.

I'm being such a pessimist. I don't know that any of this is going to happen. He may realize that he acted inappropriately, and just be glad that he isn't being dismissed.

I have until Wednesday to play the scenarios over and over in my head. Yay.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present