I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-09-24 - 9:13 p.m.�
Slightly drunken ramblings for a Tuesday night

Fruit smoothies with a generous helping of rum, and an entertaining Buffy season premiere makes for one happy Heather!

Probably happier (read: more drunk) than I should be considering it is only Tuesday night, and I still have 3 more work days until the weekend...

But that's okay!

In case anyone is wondering, seeing as I haven't really talked about work in an age, work has been pretty damned crazy lately. We keep losing volunteers in droves... some short time, some probably aren't ever coming back. Every time my phone rings, I brace myself for more bad news. I won't even go into the kind of bad news I've been getting from my clients and volunteers. Let's just say that in the past two weeks I've ended up hunkering down in the bathroom wiping away tears at least 3 times. And those are sad and/or shocked tears, based on the sad/shocking news volunteers and clients have shared with me. It's a good thing that I've had lots going on in my off-hours. Being busy has kept me from getting too stressed out and depressed when I leave the office.

My pottery class last night was fabulous. I think I have to invest in some clay and a good sturdy table for home, because it's very theraputic to pound big balls on clay onto a table. The class would almost be worthwhile just for that.

I made some things last night that actually turned out and looked good (so far anyway-- we'll have to see how they hold up after the drying, firing, and glazing processes). I made two candle holders, because I just don't have enough candle holders. For those of you out there who haven't seen my room and its multitude of candle holders, that would be sarcasm. Anyway, yes, I made two candle holders. Everyone there was oohing and ahhing over one of them, a tall jar with star shapes cut out of it for the light to shine through. It's pretty funky. I hope it turns out.

The second one I made will hold two tealight candles. The teacher showed us a technique of folding over pieces of slabs to make a small pot, and attaching them into a larger item. It looked simple enough so I thought I'd try it after I finished with my other candle holder. It all went well enough until I noticed that the the two joined containers looked like an ass. Just to clarify, that's "an ass" not "ass". Yes, I looked down and realized that I'd spent about 45 minutes making something that looked like a hollowed out bum. Colour me proud!

I really am going to try the pottery wheel next week.

Okay, I've been rambling for 20 minutes now, so I think I'm going to stop now.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sidney Bechet

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present