I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-09-17 - 9:10 p.m.�
No, I will not be making any ashtrays.

I didn't go to work today. When my alarm went off this morning, I groaned, realized I had a headache, and hit the snooze button. After repeating that 3 more times, I decided that perhaps I should call in sick.

I probably could have gone in. I was headachy and slightly nauseous all day, not to mention really tired, but I've gone to work in worse shape.

Of course, I didn't have paid sick days back then...

I spent the majority of the day in bed reading. Late in the afternoon I sent my brother to the plaza to buy me vanilla coke and rent us up a video. We'd been talking about renting Mallrats for months, because I had never seen it, but up until today we'd always put it off in favor of a movie we already owned and did not have to leave the house to see.

I'm feeling quite a bit better now. The day in bed was probably what I needed.

Last night was my first pottery class. Yep, I'm taking a pottery class. It's something I've wanted do for a long time now, but I never really found the motivation to actually do it until a friend of mine asked if I'd take the course with her.

I enjoyed the first class. I especially like the part where you get to pound the clay on the table-- it's a lovely way to release tension. The guy teaching it seems really cool. He's teaching us techniques rather than telling us what to make. Last night we did basic slabs, coils, and pinch pots.

I'm familiar with all those concepts, although I've never done any work with that medium. The hardest thing for me so far is adjusting from the polymer clay to the real clay. Polymer clay is not nearly as pliable, so I really need to work at it to get the shapes I want, and once I get the polymer clay in shaped, it is pretty likely to keep its shape. I have to be much more gentle when shaping the pottery clay.

Last night I made a really ugly thing... sort of a bowl, I guess. Maybe a tureen. I don't know. It's an ugly little container. But everybody's stuff was pretty ugly last night. I think it's pretty much assumed that anything made on the first night of a pottery class is going to be crap.

It was fun, anyway. Next week I think I might try using the pottery wheel. That will give me a whole new opportunity to make something really ugly.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present