I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-05-09 - 8:37 p.m.�
I hurt myself :(

I got an owie today.

Which is to say, while crossing the street on my lunch hour today, I tripped into a pothole, twisted my ankle, and tore a nice chunk of skin off my knee that is still oozing (but no longer gushing) blood.

Actually, it's surprising I didn't do anything worse to myself. I fell forward and ended up completely sprawled flat on the road. Thankfully it wasn't on a busy street.

My first thought was, of course, geez, I hope no one saw me. Because heaven knows when you hurt yourself, the most important thing is being alone while you do it. My second thought was whew! my ankle doesn't feel too damaged. Sure, it's a little bruised and swollen, but that's nothing compared to what I have done to my ankles in the past.

I then took stock of the rest of myself. Knees hurt, but my pants weren't ripped, so I figured I'd just scraped them up a little. No serious harm done. So I got up and stumbled onward. I walked about 2 blocks when I realize that my right knee is wet. Then I realize that it is really very sore. I made my way to the public washrooms in the bus station and checked it out.

Skip the next paragraph or two if you are squeamish.

My entire knee was covered in blood, and it was dripping down my leg. There were two separate cuts, the worst one has a big chunk of skin hanging from it.

I washed it off as best I could, and wadded up some toilet paper to keep it from leaking everywhere until I could get some bandaids. I then had to wander out to the closest convenience store that takes Interact, seeing as I had no money. By then my knee was starting to hurt quite a lot. And of course, all they had were small packs of teensy little bandaids that barely covered anything. I went to my friend's office, where I used the entire pack of twelve bandaids, and collected my nerves.

And let me just say now that I really love my friend. She stopped by my office after work to offer me a ride home, even though my home is way out of her way. I couldn't accept because I had to meet my brother and buy groceries (I've eaten way too much pizza this week. Ugh), but it just made me feel so much better to have her thinking of me like that.

That was about the only good thing about my day. I really should have just stayed in bed today. I almost did. I set my alarm wrong, and it didn't go off. I woke up on my own, about 20 minutes late, and I even though I knew I still had enough time to get to work on time, I did seriously consider staying home.

I guess I made the wrong decision.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present