I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-12-25 - 12:52 a.m.�
Well, nuts to you!

It's Christmas now, and has been for the last 52 minutes. I could be writing about all the Christmas-y things I've done today. Instead, I want to preserve forever the best voicemail message I've ever received.

Regular readers of my diary will be aware that my job involves talking to the elderly, which can be very amusing on many occassions. The most amusing moments using revolve around my voicemail, because if this job has taught me anything, it's that the elderly are often annoyed, confused, and/or terrified with voicemail and answering machines.

Today I had a message that honestly, made my Christmas Eve. This little gem was an unintentional Christmas present to me, and to everyone I've shared it with.

First, some back story. According to reception, this woman called 4 times in the span of about 5 minutes when I was away from my desk. She left me a message of nothing but heavy breathing, told the receptionist that she didn't want to go to voicemail, and that she didn't know how. After the receptionist apparently explained that all she had to do was wait for the beep and say her name and phone number, she left me a message containing nothing but the following:

"Well, nuts to you!"

I love that! I've been saying it all day. It's my new favorite thing to say. It just makes me giggle.

Things not going your way? Had it up to here with telephone reps? Frustrated with the modern world in general? Well, nuts to you!

Ah, man, I'm never going to get tired of that.

Merry Christmas!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present