I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-08-20 - 8:41 p.m.�
Is it time for another vacation yet?

Two days back at work and I already wish I had another vacation coming.

The computers were bitchy all day, and so was the new telephone system. Worse than that, the humans in the office were bitchy too. My work friend from one of the satellite offices and the wacky receptionist are bitterly fighting over the problems caused by the new phone system. Both of them want to rant to me because I'm friends with them both, and I see both their sides of things. I so totally don't want to get involved. And just when I think I'm out, they keep pulling me back in (sorry-- the gratuitus quote from the cheesy movie was unavoidable here).

My friend from the satellite office is stressed because she has recently had a whole bunch of extra work dumped on her, and one of her underlings just quit. And the wacky receptionist is stressed too, because she has had to deal with the brunt of the computer and phone system problems. And she does not deal well with stress, let me tell you. She is stratling the line between wacky and certifibly insane right about now.

The main problem as far as I see it is that they are both taking things way too personally. That's just the kiss of death around my office. Very little, if any, of the shit we get paid to deal with is personal. I try to keep this in mind. Sometimes I forget, but I am usually able to remind myself of that fact before I get dragged down too hard. Neither of them seem to get this, and both of them shot me down when I made the careful suggestion that they needed to back off a little.

Whatever. I'm not going to take it personally. It's just that it's damned annoying, and really doesn't do much to inspire me to feel like going into work when no one else seems to want to be there.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sarah Slean, "Vertigo"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present