I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-08-19 - 7:36 p.m.�
Not so brief rundown of my vacation

I survived my return to work today. It wasn't even too painful. The nice parts of today (volunteers and clients telling me how glad they were that I was back) even managed to outweigh the shit (the volunteer who waited until I got back to start bitching and refusing her current assignment even though when I was gone, she told my supervisor that everything was fine).

And even though I really didn't want my vacation to be over, it's probably for the best. Why is that? Well... that would be because I kind of spent the last half of my vacation in a massive frenzy of spending.

I spent Thursday shopping. Tragically for my bank account, I found "end of season" sales at every the plus-size clothing stores between here and Toronto. Okay, maybe not every store, but a wide variety, to be sure. I bought a gorgeous outfit to wear to my friends' wedding, as well as a number of other not so essential clothing items. But it's okay, because it's all easily justified as office clothing.

The wedding on Saturday was good. I'm really glad that I went. It seemed to mean a lot to my friend. I think I was the only person on her side, other than family, who wasn't attached to her through someone else. Case in point: her maid of honour was the groom's sister, her bridesmaid was her brother's girlfriend. When I went through the receiving line, and introduced myself as the bride's friend Heather, everyone from the usher to the groom's stepmother replied "Oh! Heather from Barrie! We were all so glad you could make it."

The reception was great, even though we didn't know anyone outside the wedding party. They sat us at a table with a group of the groom's friends, who were lots of fun. Best of all, our table was conveniently located just steps away from the open bar! Ah yeah, free booze... that's my kind of shindig.

On Sunday I coerced the friend who accompanied me to the wedding into chaffeuring the official "Heather's Nostalgic Shopping Tour of the Greater Hamilton Region 2002." We stopped by many of my favorite shops, malls, and grocery stores. Again, spent way too much money, but in addition to buying more clothing and far too many books, I bought quite a few things that can only be purchased in Hamilton.

I visited Textures, the little boutique for area artisans (including myself). I bought two funky little candle holders, bookmarks, and a bunch of silk sweetpeas. I also took in a load of new stock of my own, so hopefully I'll be able to recoup some of my spending soon.

We capped off the shopping extravaganza with a pick up of a couple jumbo slabs of Roma Pizza. Oh baby!

There is no way I can possibly describe this pizza in a way that would do it justice. It's basically just a really nice thick crust covered in a thick layer of beautifully seasoned tomato sauce. Everyone I talk to about it thinks it sounds really boring until they try it for themselves. But seriously, unless you've lived in Hamilton Ontario and tasted Roma Pizza, you have no idea what you're missing. My mother literally squealed with delight when I told her I'd brought it home with me. My brother saw the boxes and immediately turned on the oven. We're about half way through the 2nd one already. I think I should have bought a couple more.

Luckily, the friend who came with me bought a slab for herself too, and emailed me today after lunch raving about how wonderful it was. She also said that perhaps we'd have to find a reason to go back to Hamilton again soon, which is completely fine by me.

Um, I started out this entry with the intent of writing a brief rundown of the last of vacation. And seeing as I surpassed brief quite a while back, I think I'll stop writing for today. Besides, I think I need to remove my big orange cat from my bed. Before I started writing this I sorted out my clean laundry into piles, according to where they go. Simon, thoughtful critter that he is, has chosen the one and only black item of clothing to recline on.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Booker T and the MGs "Time is Tight" disc 2

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present