I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-04-06 - 11:12 p.m.�
The noisy boys are back, better attitude towards work, coffee coffee, buzz buzz buzz

There is a party going on somewhere close by. Probably in the townhouses across the street. Every now and again a drunken group holler of "Whooooo Hoooooo!" floats in through the window. As my mother put it, the noisy boys are back; it must be spring.

They sound like they are having a hell of a lot more fun than I am. I wonder if they'd notice if I crashed and stole some of their beer.

Today was a better day than yesterday. I snapped out of the "work isn't fair and I'm not going to put in anymore effort and that'll show them and screw 'em all anyway for not realizing how wonderful I am" mood today. I figured I would... I mean, I still believe that I have every right to be bitter and angry, but at the same time, it isn't like me to act out on those feelings in the workplace. I like my job too much to do that. Also I am smart enough to know that being a "team player" is always in my best interests, no matter how much my pride may rally against it.

I'm a good little office drone.

My supervisor (who is likely to get screwed over if/when I do too) and I had a little talk today. We decided that it won't do anyone any good to stop caring about our work even if we figure that we are going to get screwed in the end. And we also realized that the little bits of maddening info that we caught wind of yesterday are not written in stone. Maybe we can show the powers that be that my supervisor doesn't deserve to get pushed down to her former job (my current job), and that I don't deserve to get pushed out altogether. If we do a great job, we'll be able to argue a good case about staying put. If we decide we don't care, we could turn all those "probably"s and "maybe"s into self-fulfilling prophesies.

Besides, work is not fun when you've decided that you just don't give a hot damn anymore.

In other news, I drank too much caffeine today. I started the day with two cups of coffee. Then I ended up spending my lunch hour in Second Cup with book and a very big mocha. I spent the afternoon and most of the evening in a peppy caffeinated buzz. It put me in a good mood and give be a buttload of energy. It made me remember why drank so much coffee when I was in school. Now that the buzz is wearing off, I'm starting to remember why I felt the need to cut down on the coffee so drastically when I finished school.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present