I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-04-05 - 9:01 p.m.�
No more illusions... sadly.

Today I officially started feeling disenchanted and dillusioned about my job.

I still love my job. I still love my coworkers. I still don't want to leave my job when I contract is up.

What's different now? Well, today I started to realize that it doesn't matter how well I do my job, because when my contract is up I am going to be pushed out of the job. Even though I have been doing one hell of a great job, and have been going above and beyond the call of duty, taking on extra projects and responsibilities, and still doing one hell of a great job, it doesn't matter. When May comes back from maternity leave, there are going to be 5 people and only 4 jobs, and someone will be leaving.

And who will be leaving? One of the full-time, permanent employees, or the girl with the three month contract? It doesn't matter if I do a better job than everyone else there, there is just no way they are going to fire someone to let me stay.

I knew all this when I accepted the position, of course.

I very soon forgot about all of this once I got doing the job.

The thing is, I'm not the only one who is going to be getting screwed on this whole thing. So there have been alot of people in the office with delusions of their own about their job status. And we've fed each other's delusions because it's easier to do your job when you are optimistic about your future in your job. Sure, I'll be the only one without a job there when the chips fall, but when the woman comes back from maternity leave a lot of things are going to change around there.

Some of these proposed change plans started to seep out today. It looks like someone is likely going to be shuttled to a different branch office, and someone else is going to be getting a demotion. Both these people were surprised when they heard this. At least I did have a good idea coming into my job that it was going to be temporary. I suppose I'm one up on them for that. Still though...

I could go into more detail. I could rant. I did rant to my brother for a good hour or so today. So I won't rant here.

I just feel like I'm being taken for granted. The boss lady keeping dumping new projects on me because I am really efficient at my actual job, and have more time on my hands than other people seem to. On the one hand, I don't mind having the extra work; the day goes faster if I'm busy. On the other hand, I am feeling like what's the point of doing extra work when it isn't going to do me any good in the long run. I'm not getting paid more to do extra work. And if I'm earning brownie points with the boss lady, they are fairly worthless because they aren't going to get me hired.

And it's not fair.

And it's making me sad.

And I am really, really glad that tomorrow is Friday.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present