I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-03-16 - 8:21 pm�
Today I got some good advice.

I got some wacky phone calls today. You have to keep in mind that most of my work day is spent talking to people on the phone, and 95% of the people I talk to are eldery. I like most of the people I talk to. They seem like nice people, and most are very grateful for the help I am giving them (or arranging for them). However... I don't know how many people out there can identify with this, but sometimes when I'm talking to the elderly on the phone I have a strong urge to bang my head against my desk, slowly and rhythmically.

When I got home from work today, I told my mom and brother the details of the most noteworthy phone conversations I had today. They found this to be the most amusing.

Me: Good afternoon, Heather speaking.

Elderly Lady (shouting): Hello? Did someone say something?

Me (trying to match her volume) : Hello, this is Heather. Can I help you?

Elderly Lady: Whoever is on the other end, I'm a little deaf. You have to speak up.

Me (shouting even louder): What can I do for you?

Elderly Lady: I need to report a change of address.

Me (still shouting): Ok. Can you tell me your name?

Elderly Lady (loudly and slowly, as if speaking to a small child): Dear, I know you're there, but I can't hear you at all. You need to speak into the mouthpiece of the phone.

Ponder that for a moment.

First of, the woman knows she is hard of hearing. She started the converstion by admitting to being "a little deaf" (severe understatement, to be sure). But yet, she still thinks that if she couldn't hear me, that it must somehow be all my fault.

Second of all, WTF? You need to speak into the mouthpiece of the phone?!? As opposed to what? The earpiece, maybe? The air in front of the phone? Holy shit, it's a good thing she passed that little bit of advise on to me. Here I've been using the phone for all these years, and I thought that all I had to do communicate was think really hard about what I wanted the person on the other end to hear, and poof! They'd hear it. Speak into the mouthpiece... so that's what the mouthpiece is there for! Gosh darn it, you learn something new everyday.

Ahem. It's been a long week.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present