I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-03-18 - 7:09 pm�
Thoughts on writing

I watched a lot of television today. Some of it was drivel but some of it was actually worthwhile (at least in my mind).

I just finished watching Mike Myers on "Inside the Actor's Studio." It was pretty interesting overall, but there was one thing that Myers said near the end that really struck me. He said: "It's better to write something crappy than not to write at all."

That's something that I need to repeat to myself every now and again, because it's the truth. Writing something, anything, even if you think it sucks (even if you know for it fact that it sucks), is always worthwhile. It's never a waste of time. For one thing, you can always rewrite. Sometimes I write something that I think is hideous, but when I look back on it, I can find something in it that makes it worthwhile. An idea, an emotion, sometimes even just a sentence-- something that I can take from the experience and be proud of.

And even if I can't find that one little thing, and I end up throwing out what I've written in disgust, it was still better to have written it than not to. The experience of writing is always worthwhile. It's always a learning experience.

I need to remember that, and not be mad when I write something crappy.

And now I need to go and stake out a good seat on the couch-- A&E is showing a Biography of Sesame Street tonight at 8:00. You all should watch it too, you know you want to.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present