I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-06-05 - 9:12 p.m.�
"that" time of the month

Today was like the longest day of work ever. Okay, maybe not quite the longest ever, but it certainly felt like it. I struggled all day to get my month end reports done on time. Not an easy task at the best of times, made even harder by the fact that the receptionist seemed to have it in for me today.

I got in this morning and told the receptionist to please put all my calls through to my supervisor so that I could work on the reports. Simple enough request. This is common practice at month end time; it is really hard to concentrate on the reports if you keep getting interrupted every 2 minutes.

She remembered to do this for oh, I don't know, about an hour. I'm in middle of figuring out the tax breakdown on an expense form and my phone rings. As soon as it starts to ring the receptionist yells, "Oh sorry! I forgot." So I sneer in the general direction of reception, pick up, deal with the phone call. After I get off the phone, the receptionist saunters over to laugh about how she forgot to redirect my calls and chat with me about how there is going to be a full moon tomorrow (the receptionists at my office believe that our people who call in around a full moon are nuttier than usual-- they give me updates: "Brace yourself for all crazies tomorrow, Heather. It's a full moon"). Fine, whatever, nevermind that the whole reason she wasn't supposed to put calls through to me was that I was very busy and didn't want to be distracted!

I think my supervisor and I had to remind her somewhere on the order of 5 times today, and even then, around 3:00 she just seemed to disregard it altogether and gave me not only all my calls, but half of the ones that were meant for my supervisor.

Grrrr...

I know that reception is not a fun job. I've done reception. But come on! How hard is it to remember to redirect my calls? She remembered to do it for the other Scheduling Clerk.

But I did manage to get my reports in on time! Woo hoo! I hate month end. It's such a pain in the ass. Lately when I cringe at the thought of "that time of the month" I'm not talking about that biological time of the month anymore...

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present