I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-05-06 - 10:38 p.m.�
Financial Woes and a shopping list

I hate the span between the last day of the month and the 15th of the following month. Financially speaking, at least, this is a very bad time. Well over half of the money from my last day of the month paycheque is immediately spent on my share of the rent, hydro, phone, cable, and my monthly bus pass. Then I usually have to get some groceries. That leaves me with very money to carry me through until the next pay period. Heaven help me when I need more groceries, or want some cds or liquor.

The second half of the month is usually much happier, because the only things I absolutely have to worry about in the second half of the month are more groceries, my internet bill, and the automatic deposit into my savings account.

Whatever is left is mine to blow on whatever I want. The only problem is that I tend to blow it all, continuing the vicious cycle of self-induced poverty from the 1st to the 15th.

Although it isn't like I'm totally silly with my mid month paycheque. Last month I spent a good chunk of my money on a desk and a weekend in Toronto. I don't consider those to be frivolous expenses. I needed the desk desperately, and I needed the weekend away for my sanity. The month before that, I spent most of my mid month pay on Simon the cat, and Simonly expenses. And as I'm sure you all remember I needed to buy Simon, because he was scared at the shelter.

I keep telling myself that this month will be different. I will budget. I will not make any big purchases. I should be able to do it too, unless the pawn shop gets a copy of The X-Files Complete Season 5 for a good price... which they probably will... and I will likely buy it, because it was the last season of the show that I really, really enjoyed, and I'm a sucker for dvd box sets.

Here's what I need to buy/want to buy this month:

Groceries
Some new nail polish
The rest of the Mother's Day gift for my ma (and I have to get that before I get paid again. Sigh.)
New underwear, because damnit all, most of mine are getting pretty sad looking.
A scratching post for Simon
A colour ink cartridge for my printer.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sarah Slean, "Nightbugs"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present