I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-05-05 - 10:45 p.m.�
And now stay tuned for a word from our sponsers

Has anyone else noticed that commercials are louder than television programs? Has it always been this way, or is this relatively new? I first noticed it on my local station during Buffy and Angel, but it seemed like every show I watched this weekend had the same thing going on. Every time the commercials start, it sounds like someone jacks up the volume. Very sneaky tactic, if you ask me. The advertisers have realized that commercial breaks are potty breaks and time to forage for snacks, so they make sure that the commercials can be heard even when you leave the room.

The thing is though, I find this volume hike so annoying, that I just hit "mute" when the commercials start. Ha ha, corporate America (and Canada), just try selling me your wares now! I suppose advertisers aren't counting on the masses being quite that resourceful.

Speaking of commercials, I saw a commercial this morning that had an absolutely priceless disclaimer. It was for the new Star Wars figures. Evidently, these figures have some sort of built in "flipping" action. I don't know. In my day, if you wanted your action figures to flip mid-air, you just sort of tossed them in the air and watched 'em twirl.

In any case, the commercial shows a slow motion demonstration of the little Jedi guys flipping, and landing safely on their plastic feet. Under this is a disclaimer, warning consumers that, and I quote, "Flipping Jedi sometimes fall."

Really? The toy doesn't always work as smoothly as the commercial shows, and for this we need a disclaimer? Who actually expects the commercials to be an accurate portrayal of life? Are children getting stupider? What's next, an add for Frosted Flakes with the disclaimer "Cartoon tiger does not actually appear when you open the box"?

So many questions.

I haven't been on my computer very much lately, even though I have my snazzy new desk that makes computing so much more enjoyable and comfortable than my old set up. I guess that I got so used to finding other ways to amuse myself, that even though spending hours on my computer is a viable option again, it's not necessarily the most appealing.

I'm sure it will pass.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Fats Waller, "Handful of Keys"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present