I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-07-17 - 10:28 p.m.�
What if just listening is not enough?

I'm talking online right now with a very close friend. She is going through a very hard time, and she is telling me all about it now. We're talking honest to god, very very bad life things.

I feel so horrible for her. She is such a good person, and she doesn't need bad things in her life. Not that anyone particularly needs bad things in their life... oh hell, I just hate to see my friends go through a hard time.

I try to be a good friend, and a good listener, but when people tell me about serious problems in their lives, I never know what to say. I feel awkward and guilty for not knowing how they want me to react, or what I can do for them.

You'd think I'd be really good at it by now, considering all the practice I get at work. At least a dozen clients a day, often many more than that, will tell me their problems. Hearing about problems ranging from relatively small medical ailments, to financial difficulties, to family troubles, to isolation and loneliness, to life threatening illness, to abuse and neglect, is all part of the daily grind for me. And I still don't know how to react, especially in the most serious of cases. I stumble with my words. I say "oh dear" a lot.

I seem to take these things to heart very easily. I come home at night thinking about some of my clients, trying to think of ways I can help them.

When someone I know is having serious problems, I want to make it right for them. I want to fix it. When I know that it is out of my control to make things better, I am at a loss. I don't know what to do or say.

I know that often just being a "good listener" is enough. I'm told I'm a good listener. That's one of the reasons why I'm good at my job. But I just have trouble believing that simply listening to someone is help enough. I know rationally that it is all I am being called upon to do, but in my heart I feel like crap for not being about to do more.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present