I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-08-24 - 12:28 a.m.�
Wedding Bells (don't worry, they aren't ringing for me)

I just got an email from a good friend of mine, telling me that she is getting married. I'm happy for her. I know she is in love, and I know that this is what she wants. He fiancee is a good person, and he will treat her well. Did I mention I'm happy for her. I really am, I can honestly say that.

But at the same time, I have to say that I'm jealous. Maybe jealous isn't the right word. I feel... left behind. Out of her league now. She's getting married. If that doesn't make her a bona fide adult, I don't know what will.

I, on the other hand, still feel like a child. It's not the marriage itself, really. I don't even know if I want to get married ever. Marriage isn't the be all and end all of success in life. But hearing about the giant step she is taking in her life makes me evaluate (once again) about where I am in life, and (once again) I feel like I've managed to get exactly nowhere.

God, I'm such a whiner. I hate it when I get into one of these "My life is stuck in such a rut that I can't even begin to see how I could back on track" moods. And I hate that the overwhelming feeling I had in response to her great news was, "geez, I'm such a loser." Because I am happy for her-- I hate that I let the happiness get clouded over so easily with my own insecurities.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present