I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-05-12 - 3:41 p.m.�
Heather relives her childhood

I went out garage sale-ing yesterday. There was a big block sale just around the corner from my apartment building. It's an annual thing, and it is pretty much the only time I get to go to garage sales anymore. I don't have access to a car, or even car having friends who like garage sales, and believe me, it's pretty difficult to make a morning of garage sale-ing using the bus. So, it's just walking distance sales for me.

I love garage sales. When I was young we used to go almost every Saturday. Great fun-- half my Barbie furniture came from the Saturday morning outings. And I can't even count the number of board games we got at garage sales over the years. And books, and records, and all sorts of nifty things.

Now when I do get out to garage sales, I mostly look for things I can use for craft purposes. Yesterday I bought 2 metal tins, 2 switchplates, and 2 little fake brass picture frames. All will soon be covered with fimo.

I was happy with those purchases, and I was equally pleased with the board game I bought (it's called "Options"-- I've never heard of it, but it looks sort of like Scrabble), and the Elmer Fudd happy meal toy I found. But the best thing I found yesterday was a Light Brite.

Oh yeah baby, you heard me. I bought me a Light Brite. Now I too can make beautiful pictures with coloured light. And it's still as fun to play with as at was when I was six. I did the Tropical Fish Picture yesterday. It's so pretty. I'm thinking of putting it on permanent display on my desk.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Kermit the Frog, Happy Feet

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present