I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-05-10 - 5:33 p.m.�
Doing my bit to up tourism in the area

When I paternal grandfather was alive, he used to call me every year around March or April and let me know that he saw a robin, the first sign of spring. I saw a robin a back around the beginning of April, but today I finally saw what has become the first real sign of spring around here: Scary Plastic Bag Man is back on the streets.

For the uninformed, Scary Plastic Bag Man is a ranting, raving homeless guy who haunts the streets of Barrie, and the whole county, really. He wears a long black coat with plastic bags tied all over it (hence the name, Scary Plastic Bag Man). By the time summer hits, he�s pretty gross. �Smelly Plastic Bag Man� would probably be a more appropriate name for him than �Scary� at this point. He�s far too familiar to be considered scary anymore. Everybody seems to know who is-- he walks all over town. Most of the homeless people in Barrie tend to stay downtown but this guy�s everywhere. A couple summers ago he used to spend a lot of time in the strip mall in my neighbourhood, which really pleased the shopkeepers, let me tell you. One day he got kicked out of one of the restaurants, because he was loudly talking to himself into the payphone. He said he was calling God.

I never seem to see him around in the winter. I don�t know where he goes. Someone told me that the police put him on a bus to Toronto, and let that city deal with him. I don�t know if that�s true, although it seems like a plausible thing that the powers that be of Barrie would do. Official policy seems to be to pretend that we don�t have any �big city� problems like homelessness here. All I can say is, if that really is what happens to him in the winter, that is one bus I would not want to be on.

I just thought I�d share that story. Considering all the hits I get for people searching for "Barrie Ontario," I know that there are people reading this diary would be interested in some of the local colour. I�ve become sort of an unwitting ambassador for the city, and I feel that I really should start putting some useful information here for people wanting to visit our fair city.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Tragically Hip, Roxy and Elsewhere

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present