I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-01-30 - 11:18 p.m.�
Work-related revelation for the day

Today the boss lady invited me to a meeting. The meeting was to be a workshop of sorts, thinking up strategies to help with the amalgamation of two geographical area. I was invited because I have expertise in scheduling for both my area and one of the areas being amalgamated. I went because hey, afternoon out of the office, and because I was pleased to asked (heehee-- I have expertise!).

I went to this meeting, which turned out to be nothing more than the two people, who are most affected by the changes, expressing their anger. Bitching, sniping, generally creating an "Us vs. Them" in which everyone but those two were against them.

It was a little uncomfortable, to say the least. Everytime anyone offered a suggestion, they picked it apart or brushed it off. Their anger not only clear, it was their guiding force. All they could do was complain and bitch, and it floored me. And I realized how very different they are from me, and my current immediate coworkers.

Now, before anyone accuses me of being a hypocrite, yes, I am often angry about the work situation. And yes, I often complain and bitch. However, it's all about appropriate forums. I vent to my family and friends. I pour it out into my diary. I will discuss problems with my supervisors and coworkers; they may not have the solutions I want, but I'm lucky enough to work with people who are willing to work together and work things out.

Above all, I do not let it interfere with my job.

Everyone has to deal with what they are given. Nobody likes all of their job 100% of the time. But you have make do, find ways of coping, and if you can't, then you have to make the decision to change things. I'm less than thrilled with my work situation at the moment. Am I sitting in my cubicle stewing, or taking my anger out on those who are trying to work with me? Nope. I'm looking for a new job. I may find one, I may not, but at least I am actively doing something.

I think that's going to be my theme for the year. Don't like something in my life? Try and do something about it.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present