I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-01-31 - 9:30 p.m.�
Repressed childhood trauma

My grandmother bought a puppy a while back. This was an ill concieved, very bad decision, for a number of reasons. She is soon to be giving the dog up, and hopefully it is not too late for the puppy to grow up unscathed by her negligence and torment.

She has this little teddy bear, that "sings" when you press the paw. In a tinny, synthesized voice it sings "You are my sunshine." My grandmother discovered that when she plays this, the puppy is terrified. Terrified to the point of cowering in corners. Just the sight of the toy will send the puppy out of the room. While at first, my grandmother used this rather smartly as a training/disipline aid, by placing it in places the dog shouldn't be, she soon started doing it just for fun. She takes the bear, makes it sing and then waves it near the dog, because she finds it funny that the dog is frightened by it.

I haven't witnessed this first hand. My mom was the one who told me about it. After the story, we were both quiet for a second, and then my mom remembered something from my childhood.

When I was around three, on a visit to my grandparents, my grandmother bought my cousin and I each a little doll, with a face that changed from happy to sad. It was a rag doll, with a plastic head. The head was firmly attached to the doll's body, but the face was sort of like a cylinder, inside the head, that could be switched around, to show two facial expressions. One, a happy, smiling face, the other a tearful sad face.

This doll scared the bejeezus out of me. It gave me the wigs. I could stand the doll if the happy face was showing, but I absolutely hated to see the sad face of the doll. And it upset me that it could be spun from happy to sad so easily, and that if you stopped halfway between, she had no face at all.

The fact that I was so upset and frightened by this doll amused my grandmother. She would play with it while I was sitting with her, or hand it to me with its sad face. When I'd cry, she'd make out like it was a great big joke. When my mother told her that three year olds don't understand "jokes" like that, she told my mom she was being silly.

When we got back home, I shoved the doll into a crack between the wall and the furnace. My mom found it when we moved two years later.

I had forgotten all about that, until my mom mentioned it yesterday. More than 20 years later, but it came back clear as day.

And I wonder sometimes why I just can't get along with my grandmother.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present