I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-02-09 - 9:52 pm�
Common Interests

I was just talking with someone on Napster who I have talked to before, but I can't remember for the life of me.

It's been literally months since anyone on Napster has messaged me. When I first got onto napster I used to get random messages from people all the time. It sort of unnerved me at first. I'd be merrily downloading a song from someone and they'd message me wanting to get into a big discussion with me about whatever song/artist I happened to be downloading. They were quite nice for the most part, and I did have some interesting conversations. None of them struck me as particularly memorable though.

Apparently the conversation I had with this guy was a lot more memorable to him than it was to me, because he was really excited to see me online. I should have just asked him who he was right away, but I felt of bad for not remembering him.

I find it sort of interesting that so many of us instantly assume that two people must have a lot in common if they enjoy the same music/movies/tv shows. Wasn't there a line in High Fidelity about that too?

I tend to make that assumption too when I meet people too. If I get talking to someone and I find out that they love Buffy the Vampire Slayer for example, I automatically decide that I want to continue talking to that person, and get to know them better.

I guess it's as good a way as any to start off a friendship. At least you know that if nothing else, you have at least one thing to talk about. And often times a shared interest in one thing can mean that you have other similar interests, and a friendship can sort of springboard from there. I have gotten to know some great people that way. When I first got internet access I made quite a few good online friends through a mutual obsession with The X-Files. That's how I met Katie, for one. And even though our obsession with X-files has pretty much ended, our friendship has not.

I don't really have much of a point. I was just thinking about that today as I was playing with the new profile search feature. That is a really fun new toy. I searched through all the links on my profile. I can't believe that only 2 other diarylanders count John Wyndham among their favorite authors! Sheesh. Go read The Chrysalids and Day of the Triffids right now. Go! Go!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present