I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-12-30 - 6:27 pm�
Mom is insane

It can be very difficult to live with your parents once you've hit adulthood yourself. I know this. It's even worse if you've lived away from your parents and then have to move back. It's hard to give up that taste of freedom and independence. I know this.

The whole situation is even worse if the parent you're moving back with happens to be a wee bit insane.

I love my mom, I really do. We get along well, we like spending time with one another. Best of all, most of the time she truly does respect the fact that I'm an adult. Really, the only problem that I have with my mother is her ever worsening obsessive compulsive disorder.

My mom hasn't clincally been diagnosed with OCD, but I feel fairly confident in making the diagnosis for her. She checks the door at least 3 times to make sure it's locked before she can leave the house. She has a little ritual, in which she systematically checks all the burners on the stove and appliances in the kitchen to make sure they are off. Before we can ever leave the apartment we have to hear: "Off, off, off, off, off. Unplugged, unplugged, unplugged." And then, once we are in the hallway, she will usually still find the need to ask me if I noticed if the oven was off, even if we haven't used the oven in two days.

I've lived with that stuff forever. I've gotten so used to that stuff that it barely even annoys me anymore. Lately though, she is adopting new things to obsess over. It's getting out of hand. If she doesn't get help soon, I might just have to kill her.

Okay, I wish I could expand on this, but someone is at my door. Maybe later.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present