I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-10-03 - 10:04 p.m.�
Come on in closer for a better look...

My department at work hosted an information meeting for some of our volunteers tonight. I went, even though it meant that I didn't get home until 8:00 the evening.

I didn't mind too much. It was voluntary on my part, and I got to bank my time for later use. I've now got 4.5 hours saved up. I'll probably have a couple more by the end of the month (we had more meal delivery volunteers cancel-- I anticipate having to serve at least one night this month). I figure I'll use the banked time around the time we move. I'll probably want an extra day to unpack and bask in the glory of the new apartment.

Anyway, the meeting was okay. I like meetings at work that involve the volunteers. I like the volunteers. They are, for the most part, very sweet people, and I enjoy talking with them. I don't even mind the fact that we have to kiss so much volunteer ass at these sorts of meetings: oh you are so important to us, we appreciate you so much, you're great, you're wonderful... The thing is, I mean it. I do appreciate them. So it's not too degrading to kiss butt.

The biggest problem I have with these sorts of gatherings is the "Hello! My name is" tag I have to wear. It's not because they are silly (which they sort of are). It's because of where I have to stick it on myself. My volunteer base includes a lot of old men, and they seem to take an excessive amount of time reading my nametag. It may as well read "Hello! My name is Heather, and these are my boobs." They are all harmless old guys, but still, ew.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present