I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-08-13 - 10:31 p.m.�
Great weekend, lukewarm vacation

I had a fabulous weekend. Good weather, good company, good music. Excellent music, actually. I love summer music festivals. The Festival of Friends has always been my happy place, and I'm so glad that I've been able to go back there these last couple of years. Jackie Washington's laugh, Paul Langille snarling through "Teddy Bear's Picnic", Ken Whiteley's mouth trumpet, old favorites and new discoveries... good times, good times.

And this year the added treat of hearing a Sarah Slean song I've never heard before ("California" is gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous). As if the festival wasn't a perfect enough place for me, they threw in a Sarah Slean concert for good measure. And she played "Everything By the Gallon" in an afternoon workshop, which I haven't heard in ages. I don't know why she didn't put that song on the album, it's a beautiful song, and it would have fit in so perfectly with the rest of the songs.

So, yes, wonderful weekend. Can't say as much for the past couple of days. Yes, I'm on vacation, and that is great, except that so far the past couple of days have been sort of crummy. The only really great thing I can say about this week so far is that I'm not at work.

And that is a great thing, don't get me wrong. It's just that I think I have a bit of a stomach flu. Actually, I know I have a bit of a stomach flu. There isn't much room for doubt at this point. On Saturday I assumed that it was just hot weather and greasy festival food, but I've been eating nothing but good food since then and my stomach is still being bitchy. And let's just say that frequent trips to the bathroom is a less than fun vacation activity.

Then there is the fact that I think the damn cat has another hairball issue. He threw up his food on Monday morning, and been just kind of lying around since yesterday afternoon. He's been off his food, and he won't drink from his water dish. We've been force feeding him hairball remedy that is supposed to make him pass the hairball, and we've been giving him water with a medicine dropper so he won't get dehydrated, but I don't think there is much else we can do.

I don't know what to do. Last time this happened we had to take him to the vet and it cost us $600.00 for the vet to X-ray him, rehydrate him with an IV, and basically wait for him to pass the damn hairball overnight. Of course we didn't have the kitty laxative then, nor did we have the bright idea of squirting water into his mouth so we know he's drinking something.

I don't really know that the vet can do much more for him, short of surgically removing the blockage, which will cost us somewhere on the order of a thousand bucks. We don't have pet insurance, because obviously we are deeply stupid, and did not learn our lesson last time this happened. So I don't know how we are going to be able to afford it if comes to that.

Or to put it another way, how I am going to be able to afford it. My mother hasn't come right out and said that she is not willing to come with anything substancial, but she's made it pretty clear. My brother is currently unemployed and broke meaning that he can't contribute to any vet costs, but looks at me like I'm an evil cat killer, when I say that I don't know how we'll possibly manage to pay for any major treatment. And I feel like an evil cat killer for even considering not being able to pay vet costs. He's a good cat, damnit, and I don't want to play the bean counter when it comes to decisions on getting him medical treatment. The whole thing is just making me sad. Needless to say this is putting a major damper on my vacation.

I've never wanted a cat to shit so badly in my life.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: O Brother, where art thou? Soundtrack

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present