I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-08-14 - 10:44 p.m.�
Vacation has improved

The cat appears to be doing better. I won't go into the disgusting and smelly details, but sufice it to say, I think the blockage has passed.

He has a vet appointment, just so we can check things out and also to get some advice on how to keep this problem in check. My brother made the appointment while my mom and I were out today. This was a source of some contention between us-- I was a little miffed that he took it upon himself to make an appointment when this morning we all agreed that we'd give him another day to improve, and that he would make an appointment for me to take him in at a time when he knew I had plans. Not to mention the fact that I am the one who is paying for this.

We're pretty much cool with each other now-- I know he was scared and I know that he will do anything when it comes to the cats. And he understands how I would feel like he went behind my back to do this. Now that Simon seems to have gotten through the worst of it, we're going to reschedule the appointment to Friday when I can actually, you know, go to the appointment.

It's not like I don't think that the vet appointment is a bad idea, in fact I think it's a perfectly reasonable idea. The cost of the appointment isn't even an issue-- the checkups themselves are only about $50, and I can easily swing that and any perscriptions/special food costs that might come about (my cost issues are with the idea of invasive procedures, especially is this is going to be a chronic thing).

So anyway, getting back to the point of the story, Simon seems to be on the mend, which means big load off my mind.

Today was a pretty decent day all things considered. My mom and I had a "mother daughter day" today. We had been planning to go to Orillia, look around in the shops, take a walk by the water, but the weather was pretty shitty, so we decided it would be more fun to spend the day seeing a movie and doing some shopping in a more climate controlled environment. We saw Signs, which I really enjoyed. The whole "solution" (for lack of a better word) was a little... easy? Unexplaned? I don't know. It wasn't bad, and I don't claim to know how the conflict should have been solved, but it just wasn't the bestest ending ever. Still, it didn't really take away from my enjoyment of the movie. I thought it was very suspenseful all the way through, and it didn't depend on the "twist" ending that Shyalaman's other movies have, which was nice.

I think though, the reason that the movie worked so well for me was that it reminded me of a John Wyndham story (Day of the Triffids, Chrysalids... come on people, read a book!). Not the plot so much, but the point of view. Ordinary person in extrodinary circumstances-- so much scarier to see how an alien invasion through the eyes of a man who can't solve everything and save the world, and who has his own personal problems to deal with, than to tell the story from the point of view of a fictional president, or scientist, or whatever. So thumbs up for me on Signs, if anyone out there cares.

Tomorrow I am going out of town shopping with a friend of mine. And before anyone accuses me of putting shopping ahead of the welfare of my pets, this is a somewhat essential shopping outing, in that I have to get a wedding present for my friend who is getting married on Saturday, and tomorrow is pretty much my only opportunity to do so. In any case, I'm looking forward to it, even more so now that I can go knowing that Simondo is okay.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sarah Slean mp3s

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present