I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-12-04 - 11:07 p.m.�
Another example of my supposed weirdness.

I have a friend at work who is endlessly intrigued by my family. More specifically, by my no good bum of a father. Everytime we eat lunch together I end up delving into more "shocking" tales of dear old Dad's irresponsibility and selfishness. She seems to find my life a little sordid, definitely strange and unusual.

I'm making her sound like a jerk, I know, but she isn't. She is completely innocent and non-offensive in her interest. She comes from what she calls a "Leave it to Beaver" family. I keep telling her that makes her family far more strange and unusual than mine.

I can barely think of any of my friends, other than her, who are living in/have come from a happy, sane, well functioning nuclear family. I almost wrote that I couldn't think of anyone at all, but I do have a couple of friends whose families are Leave it to Beaver-ish. Not many though. Most of friends have divorced parents, and if their parents are still together, there are serious problems with the marriage.

But somehow, the nuclear family is still largely looked upon as the norm. Sometimes society just baffles me.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present