I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-08-27 - 9:54 p.m.�
International Day of the Crazy Old Folks

Was today National Day of the Crazy Old Person, and no one thought to tell me? Because man, the nuts I had to deal with today... in the words of the receptionist "You'd think it was a full moon!"

(Which proves what I've long suspected but never been able to convince the receptionist of: The sanity of the elderly is not based around a lunar cycle. Sometimes everybody is nuts for no good reason.)

I barely know where to begin. There was the lady who absolutely would not believe me when I told her that I we don't run a bus service. I told her that some of the other offices had wheelchair buses, and asked her if maybe she was talking about another area's service. She replied by screaming at me that she'd already told me where she lived, and I needed to start paying attention to her. And then she ranted on about how I didn't know what I was talking about, because someone told her to call this number about the bus service, and that person wouldn't lie to her. When I told her that I was in charge of the transportation program, and if we had a bus I would know about it, she made a snorting sound and hung up on me.

Right-o.

Then there was the woman who called in to tell me that she had forgotten to book an appointment for tomorrow, but it was okay because she needed to cancel. Okay, so you want to cancel the appointment you didn't have in the first place? Excellent!

And then there were some of the usual meal service complaints, some bizzare last minute ride requests, and a woman who insisted that it was important for me to know about the nursing care she gets (silly me for not seeing the correlation between me getting her a ride to the bank and why she needs the nurse to bathe her every day).

And I haven't even scratched the surface of today's installment of "fun with voicemail!" One day I'm going to write a book about the crazy telephone conversations I have at work. There will be an entire chapter on my voicemail. It will be entitled "Well, nuts to you!" Actually, that might be a good title for the whole book.

There will be a chapter entitled "Beware the Full Moon," and another on the perils of switchboard.

I think it's going to be a bestselling humour phemonenom. Watch the fuck out, Dilbert, here I come.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: the voices in my head

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present