I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-05-15 - 10:27 p.m.�
Another push towards the job market

We got a big surprise at work today. The big boss lady (head of my department) is resigning effective the end of June. She's got accepted into a really competitive University program, so she's quitting and going back to school.

It shouldn't really have come as a surprise. We had sort of been getting the impression that her heart was not completely in the job anymore and that she was probably looking elsewhere. My immediate supervisor predicted her departure months ago. Still, it was surprising today to actually hear it.

I wish her well, but I'm not happy she's going. For one thing, I like her, and I will miss her. While she does sometimes drift off into management-land, as most managers do, she is generally down to earth, and is willing to help in any way she can. She is really good at what she does, and she has made excellent strides in getting my department organized and noticed. Because my department deals with volunteers, and not employees or donations (and therefore is not bringing in any money), we are often overlooked.

I have a feeling she's going to be hard to replace. That is, if she is replaced at all. The big boss (also known in here as "The Saucy Big Bastard") may likely decide not to fill her job after she goes. That is common practice around my office these days. It's an easy cost cutting measure-- eliminate jobs without firing anybody.

I just have a looming feeling of dread surrounding my office, and my job, right at the moment. Suffice it to say, I am going to get back into hardcore job searching for a new job. I had put the job hunt on hold for the time being-- the local job boards are filled with little more than student positions right now. However, student positions or not, I need to start looking again. Even if I don't find a different job in the near future, just looking should help me feel a little better about this whole situation.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sarah Slean, Nightbugs

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present