I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-01-02 - 9:58 p.m.�
In case you're wondering, I went with the vanilla schnapps

The best thing about going to work today was the realization that after tomorrow I get another 2 days off.

I'm not used to stress. I've had eight days where the most stressful decision I've had to make is whether to put rum or vanilla schnapps into my coke.

I was expecting stress and badness at work today, seeing as I have been off for 8 days and I knew I was coming back to month end reports. I was not, however, expecting the computer program to have fucked up and reset its defaults, thereby fucking up alot of my reports. I wasn't expecting 3 of my volunteers to be off sick. And I really wasn't expecting to hear that one of my favorite volunteers (and also not coincidentally, the volunteer who does the most work for me) had a major stroke last week.

I also wasn't expecting the receptionist to be off with her mysterious illness apparently caused by a smell in the office that only she can smell. Thankfully I did not get stuck on reception too long today. Not that I ended up getting much of my month end work anyway.

I almost killed the saucy big bossman today, thanks to a truly Dilbert-esque exchange my fellow clerks and I had with him today. We explained to him how we did not have time to cover reception and finish our month end reports on time with all the time we've already lost due to vacation, and presented him with a reasonable alternative solution. He agreed to our solution but then in the next breath gave us a new time consuming little chore.

He told us that we had to run a check on the postage meter. One of other clerks explained that we did not know how to do that. Only the receptionist and the office manager know how to do that. He was shocked and appalled that we didn't know how to do it, when there are instructions on the postage machine, and it is such a simple thing to do.

The other clerk suggested that perhaps he could show us how to do it, and then we would know in the future. He replied, absolutely seriously and without sarcasm:

"(Other Clerk), I am the manager. How should I know how to do that?"

Um... hum.

Maybe, seeing as you are the manager, and are so special and important and well paid, you should know a little something about the "less important" things done by the "less important people" beneath you.

Oh! Then, a couple hours later, after calling the office manager who was home on vacation and having her walk him through the meter check (which was evidently not simple, and did not have easy to follow instructions on the postage meter), he came over to my desk with a handful of envelopes. He asked me if I could show him how to use the postage machine. I was confused, and reminded him that I didn't know how to run the meter report. He said, "Oh, I know. But I need to know how to put postage on these envelopes."

He's worked in my office for over 2 years, and this is the first time he's ever put his own postage on a letter. Holy fuck.

And for the record, putting postage on something is simple, and there are instructions posted right on the postage machine, and he still had to ask me for help.

Perhaps my new year's resolution should be to find a new job.

Except, I don't think I'd really like another job either. Maybe I should resolve instead to find a way to get rich quick.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: The Tragically Hip

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present