I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-10-18 - 11:16 p.m.�
Just another not so fun fact about my job

Good lord, am I glad it's Friday.

Don't get me wrong, on the whole it hasn't been a bad week. And work today wasn't even bad-- phones were quiet, and I had all my important work done by 10 am. And seeing as there was no one even resembling a supervisor in today I could do such things as email to my heart's content, make personal phone calls, and spend close to an hour flipping through the latest Ikea catalouge.

But the past couple of days have not been completely made up of sunshine and easy to assemble Swedish furniture.

Two of my regular clients died this week. One yesterday and one today. Both of them were sweet, little old men. I liked them. Particularly the one who died yesterday. I've talked with him at length, and I really enjoyed his conversation. Despite the fact that he was in his eighties, I was never expecting his death. He never had any complaints about himself, and in fact, spent the last year caring for his wife, who was thought to be in far worse health.

I talked to two grieving widows today. I updated computer files and hard copies with the words "Deceased." I cried in the bathroom for a little bit.

I don't think I'll ever get used to this part of my job.

But by the same token, I truly believe that I ever want to "get used to it." I don't want to be able to brush off the deaths of my clients without a second thought. It's not fair to them, and it's not fair to those who are left behind.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Sarah McLachlan, "The Freedom Sessions"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present