I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-10-16 - 9:17 p.m.�
Surreal Conversation

I think that one of the oddest things ever has to be sitting in your cubicle at work and having your mother call you out of the blue to tell you that she went on a date last night, and she wants your advice about it.

Especially when your mother has not gone on a date in the 13 years since her divorce, and has not only not expressed any interest in dating, but has turned down several nice guys in the past. And in fact, has often been heard to tell her family, friends, and coworkers that she will never date because it's just too much of a hassle and she doesn't need another annoyance in her life.

Knowing my mother pretty darn well, I can definitely say that she is sincere in that declaration.

So yes, it was more than a little strange to get that phone call yesterday morning.

I didn't have time to talk to her about it yesterday, being at work and all (seriously, nice time to spring something like that on me, mom). I knew I wasn't going to get to see her at home until Thursday after work at the earliest. So I met her for lunch today and got all the details.

Basically a coworker set her up after work, did not tell her this was happening until the guy showed up, and against her better judgement, my mother gave in and went to have a drink with the coworker and the guy. The coworker left, and then it was just my mom and the guy, who she discovered was an asshole pretty early on. Of course, having not dated in forever, she wanted my opinion on the date and whether her assessment of asshole was correct, and not just something she made up because she didn't really want to go on the date.

I agreed wholeheartedly with her assessment, and then I gave her a lecture on the dangers of getting into a car alone late at night with a guy you think is an asshole.

Surreal conversation, let me tell you.

***

I had pottery class last night because Monday was a holiday. I don't know if it was just because it was on a new night, or if I was still suffering from some of the after effects of the drive-in, but man, was I tired! I only managed to make one new thing. Nothing else worked for me. Luckily, it was also the first week of glazing, so I spent most of the class doing that.

The worst thing about having a Tuesday night class is that I couldn't stay home and watch tv on my favorite tv night.

I got up this morning, decided against doing anything with my hair, and making breakfast, and any of the other little things I do in the morning, and watched last night's episode of Buffy. I almost missed my bus, and I had to brush my hair on the elevator, but it was pretty much worth it.

Yep, I've got my priorities in order.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Almost Famous Soundtrack

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present