I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-03-08 - 9:18 pm�
Entry #250

Good day, and welcome to entry number 250!

I'm feeling about 75% better today. I even ate two actual meals today-- more food than I've eaten since last Friday. Food is good. Except now my stomach hurts. I probably shouldn't have eated that Cadbury's Cream Egg. Holiday themed junk food is my greatest nutrition downfall. It's my Achilles Heel, if you will. I tell myself, "Heather, you must buy several cream eggs/bags of cinnamin hearts/candy canes/bags of little Halloween treats/bags of cotton candy because after all, you can't get them very often." Only problem is that there is always some sort of festive treat beckoning to me.

Yeah.

I've been back at the good office for a month now, and over the past couple of days something has been starting to bother me about my job. Don't get me wrong; I still love my job. I still want to stay at this job forever and ever and will probably cry when my contract is up. But... I'm getting annoyed by the fact that I am doing the job so much better than the person who has been doing the job for 2 years. (Back story: I am filling in for the Scheduling Clerk for 3 months, while the regular Scheduling Clerk fills in for the Supervisor for 3 months.)

I know that sounds really, really snotty but it's true. Yesterday I worked my ass off to make the month end reports balance. When I first ran the reports I was off 7 units and I couldn't figure out why. I searched through the report for 2 hours, and finally found that 2 of the clients had been entered incorrectly, which was throwing off my figures.

I went into the database, checked on the entry dates of the clients, and they were both entered before I started the job. Meaning my reports were all out of whack because of mistakes made by the so called expert. When I told her that I figured out why the report hadn't balanced, and that I had fixed it, she just laughed and said, "Wow, I don't think my reports have ever balanced." My jaw just about dropped. The last time I was working in the office (in a different department) I'd been told over and over how important it was to make the reports balance. The reports affect the statistics and the funding the program gets. If they are not properly balanced, it could cause some major problems.

That's not the only thing I've noticed, although it is the major one. See, somedays I find myself with very little to do, so I find new projects for myself. Most of my new projects have consisted of cleaning up and fixing mistakes and careless organization caused by the regular Scheduling Clerk. Like today for example, I went through the files and put them back into alphabetical order.

She says that she let things get messy sometimes because she is so busy with the phones that she so doesn't get a chance to be as organized as the other departments. So far though, I haven't found it any busier than I did when I was in the other department. If it was as busy as she made it out to be I wouldn't have to find make work projects to keep myself occupied with.

Sorry to rant. I'm sure no one cares. But I just find it sort of depressing. I love the job, I am doing really great work, and I am a better person for the job than the person who actually holds the job, but it doesn't matter. In the end, when my contract is up, she will take back her job, fuck it all up again, and I'll likely be back to temp work.

Argh.

I'm really glad that tomorrow is Friday and that I am going to Toronto to see Sarah.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present